click click

I never saw myself as someone who would enjoy taking photos. The first camera I ever owned was one my parents gave me when I was 11 years old just before a trip on the Orange River. It was thin and plastic and used 120 film. The photos I took were terrible! Blurry, over-exposed (some things don’t change unfortunately, although my success rate has improved). I didn’t take photos for a while after that, not until I bought myself a sony cybershot 3.3. Needless to say that I didn’t realise any potential wielding that camera either.

I’d like to say that I led myself into using film, but I think after having given up all hope of ever taking a decent photograph that was fairly unlikely. An ex-boyfriend’s dad had an original 1964 Pentax Spotmatic, not in mint condition (I remember the click didn’t quite have it’s original sound), but was still able to take the most amazing photos. It was love at first development. I’m not proud to say this, but I even kept it for 6 months after my boyfriend and I broke up before returning it. It was just before I was going to Germany to study for 4 months, and I was desperate to be able to take photos overseas. My mom leant me her Limux, but I just didn’t get the same feeling from it. A quick trip to eBay and $35 (and another $25 courier) poorer and I had my own 1964 Pentax Spotmatic. And the rest, they say, is history.

Over 3 years, 200 rolls of film and 4000 exposures later I’m still loving film. Well… you could say it’s more of a love/hate relationship. I love that every now and then I get 30 perfect photos out of a 36 exposure film. But I hate that every now and then I get only 2. It will never stop me using film though. It also won’t stop me from one day buying myself a really good DSLR camera.

I guess this blog is more a means of documenting my love of film and the amazing moments, places and people I have managed to capture with it. But if you enjoy looking at my photos, that’s even better.

Leave a Reply

