meander in the garden

Rumer Godden was right… gardens are for joy. My sister, brother-in-law and I visited the gardens at Babylonstoren near Paarl last Sunday. The garden has over 300 varieties of edible plants that are biologically grown and used daily in the restaurant (which I still need to visit… ). There are multiple vegetable areas, berries, bees, indigenous plants, ducks, chickens and a prickly pear maze. I wish I had taken more film with me because I ran dry an hour after arriving there! But I suppose that just gives me a good excuse to go back. If, like us, you decide to go there last minute and can’t get a booking at the restaurant, the conservatory on the opposite side of the garden serves fresh “create-you-own” sandwiches, cakes and home-made fruit ice lollies.



7 thoughts on “meander in the garden

  1. i am so excited i found you via freshly pressed! i could scroll through your blog for hours, your photography is absolutely stunning. i’m following you on twitter now for updates, yip yip!

  2. Pingback: Nook Eatery : Sunshine Roast Chicken with Corn Two Ways

  3. Pingback: Miss Moss : Film Is Awesome Sauce

Leave a Reply

